The Small Cap Awards 2014 Nominees


Celebrating growth at the Small Cap Awards 2014.

The annual Small Cap Awards, sponsored by UHY Hacker Young, will take place on 21 May 2014 at Grange St. Pauls Hotel, London.

The Awards were created in 2013 to shine a light on and reward the best companies and participants in the small and micro-cap (sub £100m market capitalisation) community.

The Awards will take place in the Grange St Paul’s Hotel, 10 Godliman Street, London, EC4V 5AJ and will be attended by institutions, fund managers, brokers and advisers, creating a chance for all attendees to network with those who have shown or promoted exceptional growth and performance in the last year.

“I think 2013 marked a turning point in the UK small/microcap market” said Gervais Williams, a member of the judging panel and supporter of Small Cap stocks as an active fund manager in the sector as Managing Director of Miton Group plc.

“For most of the last 20 years it has been a case of being able to invest in any stock we chose; the tricky part was finding a way to exit the investment in a sea of sellers. Over the past six months all that has changed. It is a case of being able to sell almost any of our holdings almost instantly, and the key problem has been finding decent sellers in volume in most small/microcaps. We believe this is a multi-decade change of trend coming through.”

The event will feature British entreprener John Bird, founder of the Big Issue, as guest speaker with Peter Dickson, the voice of X-factor, as the Master of Ceremonies for the evening.

The Small Cap Awards is a once-in-a-year opportunity to recognise outstanding achievement focused on the quoted UK Micro-Cap market. The event is also sponsored by Grange Hotels, Hamlins LLP, UHY Hacker Young and Square Mile Magazine.

The judging panel consists of:

(Chair) Brian Basham – Chairman of Equity Development; Daniel Bellau – Partner and Head of Corporate at Hamlins; Richard Gill – Editorial Director at t1ps; Andrew Hore – HubInvest and editor of AIM Journal; Miles Nolan – Head of Publications at WH Ireland; Claire Noyce – Managing Partner at Hybridan LLP; Gervais Williams – Fund Manager and Director of Miton Group plc; and Colin Wright – Partner at UHY Hacker Young LLP.

This year a special award has been introduced for the Social Impact Company of the Year, awarded by a separate judging panel and which has been sponsored by the Social Stock Exchange. The purpose of this award is to raise the profile of social investment.

The judging panel for this category comprised: Mark Campanale – co-founder of the Social Stock Exchange; Andy Edmond – CEO at Equity Development; Luke Fletcher – Partner at Bates Wells Braithwaite LLP: Johnathan Jenkins – CEO, Social Investment Business Group; and Nick Temple – Director of Business and Enterprise, Social Enterprise UK.

The judges have worked together to draw up the 2014 short list of nominees for each category, based on the 2013 calendar period. In all there are ten award categories including IPO of the Year, Transaction of the Year, Company of the Year, Social Impact Company of the Year, Adviser of the Year, Fund Manager of the Year, Executive Director of the Year, Analyst of the Year, Journalist of the Year and Small Cap Hero of the Year.

Small Cap Hero will be awarded to the person or company that has best promoted the case for Small Cap Quoted Companies.

“The straightjacket that banks have been put into under Basel III was necessary to repair the bank balance sheets that were wrecked by their irresponsible excesses, but it has had the effect of denying finance to smaller quoted companies,” said Brian Basham, Chairman of the Awards judging panel.

“The stock market has become even more vital, therefore, as a source of funds for these companies that are drivers of the economy in terms of innovation and employment. Equity Development is pleased to support these awards that do so much to give recognition and encouragement to the great companies and people that make up the market.”

The event is supported all year round by the Small Cap Club which is itself also sponsored by leading central London commercial law firm Hamlins LLP.

Over the last 24 months the Small Cap Club has successfully enabled leaders and participants in the micro-cap sector to regularly meet together, based on the premise that meeting people builds trust and creates new areas of thinking and opportunity.

Award Nominees

IPO of the Year – sponsored by Equity Development
AB Dynamics; Benchmark Holdings; Bonmarche; Conviviality Retail

Company of the Year – sponsored by Equiniti
1pm; Coms; Porvair; Sprue Aegis; Thorntons

Social Impact Company of the Year – sponsored by the Social Stock Exchange
Ashley House; Benchmark Holdings; Good Energy; V22

Transaction of the Year – sponsored by Hamlins
Chesnara, Conviviality Retail; Redcentric

Adviser of the Year – sponsored by Hamlins
Allenby Capital; Cenkos; Crowe Clarke Whitehill; finnCap; WH Ireland

Executive Director of the Year – sponsored by UHY Hacker Young
Ken Greatham – Wynnstay Group; Johnathan Hart – Thorntons plc; Maria-Louise Hampton and Helen Walker – 1pm; Matthew Peacock – Regenersis

Analyst of the Year
Eric Burns – WH Ireland; Matt Butlin – Allenby Capital; Andrew Darley – finnCap; George O’Connor – Panmure Gordon; Siimon Thompson – Investors Chronicle

Journalist of the Year – sponsored by Love PR
Kate Burgess – Financial Times; Geoff Foster – Daily Mail; David O’Hara – Blackthorne Focus; Andy Hore – Aim Journal; Simon Thompson – Investors Chronicle

Fund Manager of the Year
Giles Hargreave – Hargreave Hals; Judith McKenzie – Downing; Katie Potts – Herald Investment Management; Gervais Williams – Milton Group

For more information, view the full press release or visit